Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil-Sri Lanka
 You are here : Home Food Science Division

Food Science Division

Food Science Division is composed of 4 analytical sections.

  1. Food Analytical Section
  2. Milk Analytical Section
  3. Water Analytical Section
  4. Liquor Analytical Section

Various food samples were received and analysed in the food analytical section.
Milk and Milk products were received and analysed in the milk analytical section.
Potable water and trade effluents were received and analysed in the water analytical section.
Liquor samples were received and analysed in the in the liquor analytical section.

Activities of Food Science Division

a) Analytical Activities
  1. Analyse and issue reports for food, illicit liquors, tobacco products and other products send by the Court of Law. Also give testimony in the Courts of Law in support of scientific reports issued.
  2. Analyse and issue reports (under Food Act No: 26 1980) for the food samples submitted by the authorized officers of the Health Dept. (MOH, Food Inspectors, PHI, etc).
  3. Analyse and issue quality reports for food products submitted by Food Control and Administration Unit (FCAU), other Government Institutions and Private Institutions.
  4. Analyse and issue quality reports for potable water, industrial effluents for various Govt. Institutions and co operations under the Environmental Protection Act.
  5. Analyse and issue quality reports for the samples submitted by the Dept. of Customs, Consumer Affairs Authority, Sri Lanka Tea Board and Sri Lanka Standards Institution etc.
  6. Analyse and issue quality reports for liquor samples submitted by Excise Department and other Private Institutions.
b) Other Activities
  1. Conduct lectures and work shops for Medical Officers, Food and Drug Inspectors, Public Health Inspectors, Excise Officers and Police Officers.
  2. Actively participate as a member of the Food Advisory Committee in formulating new regulations and creating new policy decisions on food.
  3. Actively participate in Drafting Committees and Sectorial Committees of Sri Lanka Standards Institution for formulating new Sri Lanka standards.
  4. Act as a member of different committees under the Central Environmental Authority and Environmental and Natural Resource Ministry for formulating new regulations, creating policy and decision making on the projects.


 alt   alt


What's New

A new division was established

In 1935, a new division was established to examine forensic questioned documents, which was named as Government Questioned Document Division.

It is significant to note that the government analyst establishment was formed into a separate Government Department on July 1913. In 1940, the first Ceylonese Government Analyst Mr. W.R. Chanmugam was appointed.

Read more text

Copyright © 2019 Government Analyst's Department. All rights reserved
Developed in association with ICTA